.knit. · mine all mine

also new on the needles

leaf panel sweaterThis is the leaf-paneled sweater from Runway Knits.  I’m knitting up Berger du Nord Belle (100% silk) on US 6 circs.

I cast on in the round dropping the four side seam stitches and adding extra stitches in the reverse stockinette sections to accomodate my embarassingly wide hips. Casting on in the round requires one to swap the knits and purls in the odd rows in the pattern, which is obvious as you work along. 

Thus, I decreased every 3rd row instead of twice after 11 rows to get back to the pattern’s waist stitch count. 

Also, I have been twisting the purl stitches that flank the leaf panels as well as those between the left and right “leaves”.  It really tightens up the yarn and helps the design stand out.

I really like the yarn so far, the color is just what I was hoping.

Leave a Reply

