.inspiration. · .knit. · mine all mine · my designs

screeeech…

Hope you were wearing your seatbelt.

So, I’m trying to channel Mr. Vuitton and knit a flemish beret.

As mentioned in my original post, using Knit Picks Decadenceand smaller needles than suggested for a more firm fabric (US7s got me 4sts=1″), I CO8 (with a provisional CO)  then – Kfb around, K around, *Kfb, K1* around, K around, *Kfb, K2* around, K around, etc., until Kfb, K20. Then continued to knit around even for a few inches.

Um. Next I ripped out those few inches of even knitting and started the “sides” of the beret again.  There was just way too much fabric (44 inches in circumference – yikes!). 

So, a more reasonable approach:

CO8 provisionally
Kfb around
K around
*Kfb, K1* around
K around
*Kfb, K2* around
K around
(continue as established, increasing 8 sts every other round)
*Kfb, K20* around (176 sts)
K
*K2tog, K20* around (168 sts)
K 2 rounds
*K2tog, K19* (162 sts)
k 2 rounds

blah, blah, until there are 112sts or 28 inches in circumference (I think…I’m not there yet).

Anyway, I just wanted to give a heads up to anyone playing along at home. Should have a finished pattern this weekend.

Cheers, and always wear a seatbelt.

One thought on “screeeech…

  1. Ooh, good luck with the beret! I’ve seen lots of people knitting berets recently, but oddly, I rarely see anyone wearing one. Where do all the berets go?

    (BTW, the Trellis baby sweater pattern is sized from 6 to 18 months, but I don’t think it would be difficult to size up.)

Leave a Reply

