.knit. · liam gregor

thanks again, ms. zimmermann

Can you believe the FOs? I can’t. After such a long bout of apathy during the first trimester (and half of the second really), I feel like a knitting machine.

This sweater is similar to the Baby Surprise Jacket, though much more obvious in its construction. It was quick and fun – love garter stitch. I thought I could finish it with only one ball of fingering weight yarn, but alas two were needed.

Pattern: Surplice Baby Jacket, by Elizabeth Zimmermann from Vogue Knitting – Spring/Summer 2007

Yarn: Knit Picks Gloss, Porcini, 1-1/2 skeins. 

Needles: US 3 (3.25mm) circs for 22 sts = 4″ in garter st

Finished Measurements: Chest: 17”, Length: 8”

Mods: Hard to modify such a loose pattern. I did increase the sleeve length by a couple inches as suggested in the magazine article and attached two buttons with a crochet chain for fastening the sweater. I didn’t bother with trimming the edges as the cable cast on is lovely on its own and I slipped the first stitch of every row kwise wyib for a nice edge along the wrap edges.

On Ravelry

2 thoughts on “thanks again, ms. zimmermann

  1. This is one of the best EZ Surplice Baby Jackets that I have seen on the net!! And I have been looking.

    I do have a question and wonder if you would be kind enough to answer it. I am making this sweater and am at the sleeve shaping. It said to mark stitch 24,26,74,76 and increase each side of each marker. Can you tell me how in do this increase? Do in increase on sts 23, 25, 27, 73, 75, 77 for a total of 6 inc or what? Thanks for any help that you can give me.

Leave a Reply

