.family. · .quilting. · liam gregor

school daze

My big boy’s first full day of “school” is today. I’m a wreck. According to the lady at daycare, whom I just called for reassurance, he’s doing fine. Still a little shy, but calmly working on his art project for the day.

We did a few hour test run on Friday and I had to watch him cry when I left. The most horrible 5 minutes of my life, thank you very much. But he was happily eating his snack with the other kids when I returned to pick him up. It actually took us 30 minutes to leave. He saw me come in, waved, and turned back to finish his snack. No grand reunion. No running into my arms. No drama whatsoever. Just a little wave, then back to the cookies and crackers.

Thankfully, I will rarely have to handle the drop off. Poor B, he’s got that job. I get to be the rescuer.

Anyway, Liam only needs a few supplies to keep at school: diapers, wipes, sippy cup, extra change of clothes (just in case), and a blanket and pillow for naptime. Gasp! I sent my sweet love monkey to school without a pillow on Friday. The horror. Fortunately Children’s Services was not called in. This time.

Three guesses what I did this weekend.

Using fabric scraps left over from Liam’s quilt and an adorable orange fat quarter from Walmart, I whipped up this 14″ square pillow in about 5 hours. I’m slow, normal people would likely have finished something this simple in 3.

liam's pillow

The one piece envelope pillowcase is removable and made similarly to this.

Liam's pillow  Liam's pillow

Basically, I made a 32″x15″ rectagle quilt then folded it and sewed the side seams. The process was as follows. First layer the quilt sandwich batting, pieced top face up, and quilt back face down. Sew the 15″ seams and turn the quilt right sides out, so that the 15″ edges are finished. Next do your quilting. I did simple straight lines at 1/2″ spacing. I did a single line of straight stretch stitch 1/2″ from the finished edges and regular straight stitch for the rest. I really like the heavy look of the straight stretch, but it seemed like a crazy waste of thread and time (took at least twice as long as the regular).

Liam's pillow  Liam's pillow

I also took the opportunity to play with the alphabet stitches on my Curvy.

Liam's pillow

Hope the cuteness of the pillow makes up for my negligence last week. Cheers!

3 thoughts on “school daze

  1. Love the pillow….I’m sure it is perfect for using at school. I have been through the first day of nursery, school and secondary school with my children and so far they have always survived unscathed – in fact it seems to me that they love it!!!!

  2. don’t let the other moms see the pillow. they’ll be jealous and feel far less superior because they’re not crafty. or they’ll ask you if you take orders! keep up the good work, mommy!

Leave a Reply

