jennifer's blog

purls before wine

Paige’s Christmas Stocking

29 Comments

falling snow stockingWell, I finally finished writing up the pattern for my niece Paige’s Christmas Stocking. I gave up on the whole “making notes” thing by the time I hit the heel, so be forewarned.

The stocking is knit with bulky yarn (Knit Picks Wool of the Andes) at 4sts and 4 rows to the inch on US10s. Gauge is not critical for this project, but at 4sts to the inch the stocking is about 20 inches from heel to cuff. In other words, HUGE.

This would be a great way to ease into knitting socks, as it eliminates SSS (second sock syndrome) altogether. Also, the chart could easily be modified for different color patterns.

Good luck, and please let me know if there are any errors.

Here’s the falling snow stocking pdf.

Here is is on ravelry and here’s the flickr group. Please share images of your finished stocking!

Author: Jennifer

crafty...knitting, crochet, photography, sewing, cooking (eating), wine

29 thoughts on “Paige’s Christmas Stocking

  1. I loved the pattern–it was my first try at two color knitting! I want to add a little loop to hand it with. Any advice?

    Linda

  2. For my stocking, I lined the entire thing with a fabric liner (just traced the outline of the stocking on a folded piece of fabric) and added an I-cord loop. For the loop I threaded a length of cording through the center and sewed the whole thing (cording and I-cord) between the knit stocking and the liner. That way the knit loop and stocking doesn’t need to fully support the contents, the liner does the heavy lifting.

    Hope this helps!

  3. Pingback: Knit One, Purr Too » Blog Archive » From red, to….red

  4. I just happened to come across this pattern the other day. This is Exactly what I have been looking for, Thank you So much. I ordered my yarn yesterday and plan to start working on it Thanksgiving week if all goes well. This is perfect. Thank you again.

  5. Your stocking is beautiful!

  6. Pingback: » Productive, Yet Sad Weekend | Kuka Yarn All of wants you need

  7. Pingback: Xmas time « Neak’s Craft Corner

  8. Pingback: Christmas Care Package! « The Knitting Turtle

  9. Hi, I’m working on the stocking and am at the short row heel. The pattern has 4 rows, then it says continue in this fashion until 18 sts remain. Which fashion? I don’t see a pattern in the 4 rows that would be repeated. Am I to repeat all 4 rows? Just the last two? Thanks!

  10. That’s such a lovely stocking pattern! I run an animal shelter in Edinburgh and we have a knitting group – would it be ok to make some of these stockings for our fundraising for the shelter?

  11. Sure. Thanks for asking. Hope it helps you bring in some donations. Would love to see some pics of the finished stockings. There’s a flickr group and a Ravelry page for photos. Cheers!

  12. Sorry for the delayed response. Life has been busy since the new addition.

    The instructions mean that you should continue following the pattern created by rows 2, 3, and4.

    Row 2: (wyb) sl 1 pwise, k5, ssk, k1, turn
    Row 3: (wyf) sl1 pwise, p6, p2tog, p1, turn
    Row 4: (wyb) sl1 pwise, k7, ssk, k1, turn

    So, row 5 would be (wyf) sl1 pwise, p8, p2tog, p1, turn and row 6 would be (wyb) sl1 pwise, k9, ssk, k1, turn.

    Hope that clears things up.

  13. Thank you SO much for posting the translation for “continue in this fashion”. I came here looking for help on that as I was stuck. Phew!

  14. Pingback: inkyblack.net

  15. Hi Jennifer,
    I love your pattern for christmas stocking.
    My mother is knitting your stocking and is having some trouble following the part of the pattern where you turn the heel. Do you have a phone no I could call you at to explain the pattern?
    Thanks, Maria

  16. Perhaps these videos will help.

    Knitting the heel flap -

    Turning the heel –

    Knitting the gusset –
    http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=verypinkknits#p/search/7/S3LVbaiqTAw

  17. Pingback: Real Life Housewife » Blog Archive » Stockings

  18. Thank you so much for taking the time to make this pattern available and to even put up helpful videos and charts! Because of your kindness and hard work my family now has beautiful stockings that we will cherish for many more Christmases to come. Thank you!

  19. Pingback: Today We Begin Month O’Socks « Suzy Sells Sea Shells

  20. Love it! What colors did you use? Thanks for your help. Jane

  21. Bare and wine (I think it was wine…I tend to go for wine in all its forms). Ravelry has tons of great color combinations – http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/falling-snow-stocking/people. Enjoy!

  22. Pingback: Chilly Mornings = Finished Projects! | The Housewyfe

  23. Thank you SO MUCH for your stocking pattern. A scaled down version is complete and it’s beautiful. After spending hours trying to find a knit stocking pattern, this was a GODSEND. This is the best way to commemorate the first Christmas in my new house.

  24. Pingback: site.ninerubies.com Blog » Best Christmas Patterns (So Far)

  25. Pingback: Christmas knitting « Get Crunchy

  26. Jennifer,
    Love your stocking pattern. This is my first fair isle project and it is fantastic! I just got to the heel flap section, where it says ”
    Using CC, K15, turn. (wyf) sl1 pwise, p 29.”
    I knit the 15 and turned and sl1 pwise. Now to purl 29 I’d be going back across my starting point, beyond the 15 stitches, which makes a big hole? I’m sure I’m missing something??
    Thanks for your help in advance!
    Janelle

  27. Not sure why you’re getting a big hole. You are supposed to knit past your original starting point, so you’ve got that right. Sorry I can’t be more help.

  28. Hi Jennifer,

    I’m also stuck at this place:

    Using CC, K15, turn. (wyf) sl1 pwise, p 29

    I don’t understand how to p29 when I only have 15 stitches on my needle. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks in advance:)

  29. Pingback: I’m Back!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers